Hume Veterans Cycling Club - 20 years on

March 22, 2017

In March 1997, 18 cyclists took to a course starting and finishing in Tatong to mark the first race in the history of the Hume Veterans Cycling Club, with the winner scratch-man, Ray Jarratt.

Last weekend marked the club’s 20th anniversary and along with it the anniversary Handicap Road Race.

This year, to keep in with the occasion, the members still raced a Tatong circuit, this time starting and finishing in Benalla, still taking in 99 per cent of the original course.

Only two of the original members were present at this year’s race and none could have been a more worthy winner than one of those members in the club’s inaugural club president, Tony Morris. (Tony served the next four years in office as club president).

This race saw Tony riding solo from the 33min mark and only two riders (Holgate and McDonald) on Scratch.

The pair were set the task of a chasing a strong ‘block’ group 6mins up the road. This they did by the time the groups were to make the right hand turn at Moorngag (20kms from home).

Scratch pulled in the two middle mark groups with 10kms to go and the race was chasers, chasing the lone limit man.

The finish line came too soon for the back-markers in the 48km race as Morris crossed the line 45seconds to the better of scratch.

Dean Holgate proved too fast in the tussle for fastest time honours with ‘block’ rider Simon Hall showing that his track work is paying off to take third place.


1 Tony Morris (33) 1.42.01 (28.23km/h), 2 Dean Holgate (scr), 3 Simon Hall (6), 4 Christian McDonald (scr), 5 Geoff Morley (6), Ashley O’Farrell (10), 7 Vaughan Mudge (10), 8 Anthony Plummer (10), 9 Ian Strang (6), 10 Mick Cathie (21.)

Fastest Time: Dean Holgate (scr) 1.09.46 (41.28km/h).

Next Hume club race: Sunday, April 2, Byawatha, 52.2 km Handicap. Entries close Friday 9pm, March 31 with Bernie Grealy, phone/SMS 0417213799.

●Any inquiries, phone Simon Hall on 0448533322 or visit

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text