Benalla bowlers 1A premiers

April 12, 2017

Benalla Bowls Club won the Ovens and Murray Midweek Pennant 1A competition recently.

The midweek pennant 1A competition has been won by the Benalla Bowls Club after a hard-fought final against YMGCR.

The grand final, played away at Rutherglen last week was won by Benalla in the end 61-53.

Benalla Bowls Club secretary Graham Moore said it was a ‘‘fantastic’’ grand final where the underdogs came out on top.

‘‘This was a fantastic game, YMGCR were the favourites to win, but Benalla who finished fourth, had other ideas,’’ Moore said.

‘‘The lead changed a few times but Benalla showed YMGCR that they are the best.’’

Moore said it was a great team effort, with the home side being in the grand final for the past four years, but have now lost twice to Benalla.

Meanwhile, the club also hosted the Mawson’s Concrete Ladies Medley Fours last Thursday.

Teams from Moyhu, Moira, Mansfield, Myrtleford, Shepparton Park, Swanpool and Tocumwal competed, along with visiting players from YMGCR, Barooga, Mooroopna Golf, Ovens and Benalla who joined composite teams.

Winners on the day were a composite team of J. Doherty, M. Hill, W. Joseph and M. Empey with four wins and 29 shots up.

Runner ups was the team from Mansfield - L. Foots, I. Fuller, B. Snider and E. Smith, with three wins and 33 shots up.

In the best last game, the winning side was the team from Swanpool, consisting of B. Sunderland, L. Mevsyall, J. Sienvright and S. Matheson.

The spider winner was W. Joseph from Benalla.

Meanwhile the ditch to ditch winner was J. Sievwright.

The prizes were presented by Graeme Mansfield from Mawsons.

On Saturday, the club hosted a game of open social bowls, with 24 players who played two games of 12 ends of two bowl triples.

The winners on the day were R, Rigby, H. Gadsden and J. Cooper with two wins and 21 shots up.

Runner ups were K. Morrison, M. Binnie and D. Rankin.

In the indoor bowls game played last Monday with 18 players, who played three games of eight ends, the winners on the day were M, Empey, P. Robinson and A. Flack.

Runners up were B. Mollison, V. Haag and M. Price.

In the indoor bowls played last Wednesday, the winners were G. Green and M. Welsh, and the runner ups were L. Brown, M. Price and R. Charlwood.

Next Thursday at 2pm sees the club and indoor bowlers celebrate its 60th anniversary with an afternoon tea.

An invitation is extended to past and present indoor bowlers to attend.

The club asks that anyone interested phone the club by April 13.

●Phone president Bill on 57624437 or secretary Margaret on 57622080.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text