Inter-league squad announced, led by Saint

April 12, 2017

Six Benalla Saints including head coach Luke Morgan have been selected to represent the Goulburn Valley League in an interleague match next month.

The GVL has announced its preliminary football interleague squad of 34 for a highly anticipated match between GVL representatives and those from the Ovens and Murray Football Netball League.

The O&MFNL is yet to release a squad to play against the GVL side. The match is set to be played in Wodonga on Saturday May 13.

The squad, selected prior to the first round of fixtures due to the later start of the season, contains a mix of youth, experience and talent.

Headed by coach Morgan, Benalla’s James and Sam Martyn, Nick Warnock, Jordan Wolff, David Mennen and Zac Palpratt have also been selected for the preliminary squad.

Morgan acknowledged the support of all clubs in the league in announcing the squad.

“I am very pleased with the squad, the players commitment to represent the GVL as well as the very strong support we have had from all coaches in the league.

“The selection committee has been meeting regularly to come up with this squad and we have been in contact with almost 60 players during the selection process,’’ he said.

Morgan said because of the later season start date the selectors decided to name a squad earlier than previous years to allow for better preparation to take place.

“However, there is certainly the possibility for additions to the squad through early season form over the next few weeks,’’ he said.

**Preliminary squad of 34:**

Benalla: Luke Morgan (coach), James Martyn, Sam Martyn, Nick Warnock, Jordan Wolff, David Mennen, Zac Palpratt.

Echuca: Daniel Willis, Ruory Kirkby.

Euroa: JD Hayes.

Kyabram: Jason Morgan, Lachlan Smith, Brad Mangan, Kayne Pettifer, Rhys Clark, Liam Ogden.

Mansfield: Adam Boshevski, Brett Mahoney.

Mooroopna: Dean Smith.

Rochester: James Gledhill, Steven Stroobants, Nathan Marrone.

Seymour: Jason Cole, Ben Clifton, Brandyn Grenfell, Harrison Wheeler.

Shepparton: Ash Holland, Luke Smith.

Shepparton United: Luke Lowden.

Tatura: Tom Miller, Chris Ryan, James Sullivan, Jamason Daniels, James Wall.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text