Gladstone and Thomson shine at Goorambat best and fairest awards

By Benalla Ensign

Goormabat’s Sam Gladstone and Georgia Thomson have this year taken out the club’s best and fairest awards at the clubs presentation night last week.

Gladstone took out the Andrew Ellis Perpetual Trophy in a tight race ahead of 200 gamer Ben Reaburn, while Thomson finished ahead of coach Amelia Skilbeck in the A-grade count.

In the reserves count, quick midfielder Haider Al Hasnawi took out the Rettke Family Shield, beating joint runners up Will Greenhalgh and Les Lawford.

In the netball counts, B-grade shooter Brittney Harris claimed the best and fairest award ahead of teammate and captain Fiona Doig, with Doig excelling in several position this season.

In B-reserve, Chloe Cook took home top honours ahead of Sally-Anne Swankie, with Cook's shooting on point this season.

And in C-grade, 15-year-old Alyssa Priest finished on top ahead of Jacinta Beavis, though with Beavis injured part way through the season, the result could well have been tighter if she had of played out the entire season.

Other awards winner on the night were:

Best Senior Backman: James Webb

Best Senior Team Person (Joe Eldridge Trophy): James Pryor

Leading Senior Goal Kicker: Tom Williams

Senior Coach’s Award: Ryan Burns

Reserves Best Team Person (Joe Eldridge Trophy): Trevor Taylor

Reserves Coach’s Award: Petr Safonov and Matthew Armstrong

A-grade Best Team Player: Erin O’Brien

B-grade Coach’s Award: Kirsten Hooper

B-reserve Coach’s Award: Tali Wallace

Under-17s Most Improved Player: Abby Hammond

The club also presented a number of club awards on the night:

Life Membership (100 Games): Jeremy Sloan, James Webb, Liam Hernan, John House

Milestone Games: Ben Reaburn (200 Games), Luke Hernan (150 Games)

Most Dedicated Football Player (Don Morton Perpetual Shield): Nathan Farley

Most Courageous Football Player (Andy Baker Perpetual Trophy): Tom Ryan

Most Valuable Netball Person Award: Amelia Skilbeck

Outstanding Club Person Award (Geoff Heaney Perpetual Shield): Travers Nolan

President’s Award (Charlie Cooper Perpetual Shield): Colin Briggs

Goorambat FNC would like to say a big congratulations to all the award recipients, and thank all the players, coaches, volunteers, supporters and sponsors for another great year at the club.